I work a late shift. I love it, love what I do, love working outside the home, but having graduate in Family Life, I am uneasy that because of working during dinnertime, we don't have dinner together. We do what we can. We'll make food and I'll bring it with me to work or Steve will go home and make dinner then bring it to work to eat with me. However, this does take time away from what he should be doing (schoolwork being the biggest).
This week we decided to do some things differently. Steve made some hamburger patties, we made a roast from which we froze some but also made beef stew and beef stroganoff from it. These four meals we also froze. Then, we cooked some pinto beans and made bean burritos and, you guessed it, froze those too. To finish it off, we made some bread dough and split it into three things: balls to freeze to make rolls out of later, cinnamon rolls, and fried bread to eat with hot chocolate tonight. I also made a double batch of no bake cookies and froze those but we have already eaten two bags of those... they may not last us too long. As a side note, we also froze uncooked hamburger to use in other things (Chili, meatloaf, spaghetti, meatballs...).
Basically, I am really excited to just grab a frozen meal and go to work, for Steve to be able to take a burrito to work with him instead of eating from vending machines, AND for the vegetables we bought to not go bad before we use them.
We also have sausage to make biscuits and gravy and for Italian Skillet. For this two week period, we haven't actually planned any chicken meals but we do have some frozen in case we get a hankering for a chicken meal. At the moment though, I just can't think of what chicken meal I would want to eat. Got any ideas?
No comments:
Post a Comment